Plenary/Keynote Speakers

5th International Conference on Fluid Flow and Thermal Science (ICFFTS 2024)

We a are pleased to announce our Plenary and Keynote Speakers for ICFFTS 2024:

Dr. Majid Bahrami

Dr. Majid Bahrami
Simon Fraser University, Canada
Plenary Speaker

Dr. Bahrami is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Alternative Energy Conversion Systems at SFU. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineers (FCAE) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (FASME). Bahrami championed interdisciplinary, collaborative research in multitudes of sustainable clean energy systems, including: harvesting and transforming low-grade heat for sustainable air conditioning, thermal energy storage, atmospheric water harvesting, heat pump systems and dehumidification for applications in automotive, agri-food, sustainable city, and hybrid thermal electric microgrids. He has a strong track record in successful collaboration with national and international research institutes and industry. He formed 2 start-ups; won national and international research and innovation awards; published 12 patents and 350 publications; and supervised 180+ highly qualified personnel, including 8 professors.

Topic of Keynote: Waste Heat and Sorption Technology: A Pathway to Decarbonize District Energy
Plenary Abstract

Dr. Gretar Tryggvason

Dr. Gretar Tryggvason
Johns Hopkins University, USA
Plenary Speaker

Gretar Tryggvason is the Charles A. Miller, Jr. Distinguished Professor at the Johns Hopkins University and the head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. He received his PhD from Brown University in 1985 and was on the faculty of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor until 2000, when he moved to Worcester Polytechnic Institute as the head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Between 2010 and 2017 he was the Viola D. Hank professor at the University of Notre Dame and the chair of the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. Professor Tryggvason is well known for his contributions to computational fluid dynamics; particularly the development of methods for computations of multiphase flows and for pioneering direct numerical simulations of such flows. He served as the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Computational Physics 2002-2015, is a fellow of APS, ASME and AAAS, and the recipient of several awards, including the 2012 ASME Fluids Engineering Award and the 2019 ASTFE Award.

Topic of Keynote: Numerical Simulations of Complex Multiphase Flows
Plenary Abstract

Dr. Guillermo Paniagua

Dr. Guillermo Paniagua
Purdue University, USA
Keynote Speaker

Prof. Paniagua’s team specializes in turbines, measurement techniques, and propulsion, focusing on aerodynamics and heat transfer of high-speed internal flows. The central theme of Paniagua’s research is to expand the traditional limits of fluid machinery. Prof. Paniagua’s team aims to pioneer the transition to a world where all propulsion and power generation is clean through creative and rigorous research in high-speed internal flows. The team combines expertise in Measurement techniques, Experimental testing procedures, Theoretical calculations, and Computational analysis with a focus on research and development for turbines and novel thermal-based cycles.

Topic of Keynote:

Registration fee includes the following:

  • Publication of 1 accepted paper in the proceedings. Publication of each additional paper requires a 250 Euro registration
  • Buffet lunch for each day of the conference
  • 2 coffee breaks for each day of the conference
  • 1 banquet dinner OR cruise tour

Important information for accompanying person(s): Please be informed that the accompanying person can NOT be a co-author.
Co-authors, regardless if 1 author is attending, must pay the full registration fee.
The accompany person fee is only for spouses and/or children. Please contact us if you are unsure.

Virtual registration fee includes the following:

  • Publication of 1 accepted paper in the proceedings. Publication of each additional paper requires a 150 Euro registration
  • Access to all the sessions of the conference